Ever sent a text and immediately wanted to delete it? Now you can with Apple’s latest software update.
IOS 16, Apple’s newest phone operating system, was released Monday and now gives users the option to delete or edit iMessages once they are sent.
For up to 15 minutes after sending a text, iPhone users can edit their messages up to five times. However, the person on the receiving end will be able to see a record that edits have been made.
When it comes to deleting texts, users only have two minutes after the message is sent to delete it.
Deleting a message:
- Press and hold on the “undesired” text message
- A Quick Actions menu will appear on your screen
- Tap “Undo Send”
- This feature will only work for two minutes after initially sending the message.
- The undo action will only work with iMessage texts, meaning that chats with Android users or iPhones via SMS won’t have access.
Users on the receiving end of the text may be able to see messages if their iPhone is not up to date. Once a message is deleted, the other person is able to see that you’ve “unsent” a text.
Editing a message:
- Press and hold on the text message you want to edit
- A Quick Actions menu will appear for that message
- Tap “Edit”
- Once you’re done editing, tap the blue check mark to update the text message.
- Beware that you can only edit the message up to five time and that changes must happen within 15 minutes of the text being sent.
- This feature only works on iMessage, meaning it won’t let you edit SMS messages or any sent to Android users.
Another new feature in the update is the ability to remove the subject of an image from its background and place it in another app like Messages.
There is also new Lock Screen features including redesigned notifications to now roll in from the bottom to offer a clear view of the Lock Screen, and users can choose to view notifications in an expanded list, stacked, or as a count view.
To see all the new features in the latest update, click here