Home PARIS ISD PHS TAFE students compete at state level

PHS TAFE students compete at state level

by MyParisTexas
0 comment

The Paris High School Texas Association of Future Educators (TAFE) competed at the state level at Sam Houston State University in Montgomery, Texas, at the 34th Annual Teach Tomorrow Summit.

Students competed in various competitions and contests and brought home six blue ribbons and three red ribbons. PHS chapter President, Itzuri Ramirez, also serves as Region 8 Vice President and participated in the awards ceremony.

Bulletin Board Blue Ribbon recipients: Elementary—Darquize Bailey and Vershaud Richardson; Middle School—Sarah Starkey and Hannah Pardee

Chapter Scrapbook Blue Ribbon recipients:  Carol Sanchez, Alexandra Hernandez

Project Visualize Blue Ribbon recipients:  Educational Awareness—Carol Sanchez; Service—Hope Cox; Fundraising—Maria Gonzalez and Constance Bivins

Bulletin Board Red Ribbon recipients: High School—Itzuri Ramirez and Alexandra Hernandez

Project Visualize Red Ribbon recipients: Appreciation—Da’zariah Coleman and Kenya Young; Leadership—Alexandra Hernandez and Carol Sanchez

PHS TAFE Chapter sponsor Emily Steele said, “I am honored to work with such a talented group of students. They surpassed their own expectations and conquered many obstacles to achieve success. I look forward to seeing what great things these students achieve.”

Dr. Angela Chadwick, director of Career and Technical Education said, “I am extremely proud of the growth of the TAFE Career and Technical Student Organization (CTSO) under the direction of Emily Steele. I believe the success these students have made is proof that CTSO’s are an important part of any CTE program.”

PHS teacher Kelley Ferguson served as a judge at the competition and as a chaperone for PHS students.

Photographed from left are (front row) Itzuri Ramirez and Alexandra Hernandez; (second row) Da’zariah Coleman, Carol Sanchez, Emily Steele (sponsor), Maria Gonzalez, Hannah Pardee, and Sarah Starkey; and (back row) Darquize Bailey, Vershaud Richardson, Hope Cox, Constance Bivins, and Kenya Young.

Related Articles