Lamar Electric Co-Op Youth Tour winners announced

Lamar Electric Cooperative announced Friday Emily Newman and Emerson Penny as the winners of the Government-In-Action Youth Tour.

The students submitted an essay on the topic, “What would life be like without electricity?” Many essays were submitted and only two were selected for this all-expenses-paid trip to Washington D.C.

Emily is the daughter of co-op members, William and April Newman of the View Point community and is a senior at Prairiland High School. Emerson is the daughter of co-op members, John Paul and Andrea Penny of the Blossom area and is a sophomore at Prairiland High School.

These two students and over 150 students from other cooperatives in Texas will receive an all-expense paid trip to Washington D.C. to tour our nation’s capital and many historic sites in and around Washington D.C. The trip will take place June 17th-26th.

Lamar Electric Communications Director, Kristen Bollman, said the tour will originate in Austin, Texas.

“From there, the group will fly to Washington D.C. where they will meet with approximately 1,200 other students from across the nation.”

Once in Washington, the tour participants will get to see and tour many historic places such as Mount Vernon and the U.S. Capitol, where they will visit with their Texas Congressman, and tour the House & Senate chambers. These students will also get to visit the White House.

Also included on the tour will be places like the Supreme Court and Library of Congress, Washington National Cathedral, George Washington’s home at Mount Vernon, Smithsonian Institution and Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington Monument, Arlington Cemetery, the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Jefferson Memorial, Korean Memorial, Lincoln Memorial and Vietnam Memorial.

“Lamar Electric Cooperative sponsors students on this trip each year. These students must live in a home served by Lamar Electric or attend a school served by Lamar Electric.”

Lamar Electric is a not for profit cooperative providing electric service to members in Lamar, Red River, Delta, and Fannin counties.