Lamar Electric Cooperative announces Government-in-Action Youth Tour 2022 winners

Lamar Electric Cooperative announced the winners of the Government-in-Action Youth Tour 2022, congratulating Raegan Blagg, Savannah Colwell and Emerson Penny.

After two years of not going due to COVID-19, Lamar Electric Cooperative is able to send two high school students and a third, who won an opportunity to go when the trip was canceled in 2020, on an all-expense-paid trip to the Government-in-Action Youth Tour in Washington, D.C.

This year Lamar Electric Cooperative has selected two winners: Raegan Blagg and Savannah Colwell. Blagg is a junior at Rivercrest High School and Colwell is a senior at Prairiland High School. Joining these students will be Prairiland senior Emerson Penny who won her spot as a sophomore in 2020. 

The students submitted an essay on the topic, “What will the Future Sources of Electricity be in the United States?” Many essays were submitted, but only two were selected for this all-expense-paid trip.

Each year, Lamar Electric and other Electric Cooperatives across the country select students to attend the Government-in-Action Youth Tour.  This is an all-expense-paid tour of Washington, D.C., which includes visiting the U.S. Capitol and meeting members of Congress.

Like and follow MyParisTexas.com on Facebook – Reporting local news in Paris and Lamar County, Texas.